Crosman 101 Tuning, Souping, Steriod etc.

Author Topic: Crosman 101 Tuning, Souping, Steriod etc.  (Read 562 times))

Offline Tuntland and Co.

• Shooter
  • yes
Crosman 101 Tuning, Souping, Steriod etc.
« on: February 15, 2019, 01:19:51 PM »
I just finished my first 101 reseal, and currently have 3 more to go.  I am a gunsmith that is relatively new to air gun smithing, and am looking for some help.

I grew up with the Crosman 101, and may be a little biased about their handling and aesthetics.  I also know guys have been tuning them for a long time, but I am new to rebuilding and I can already tell that I would like to be into tuning.  That being said, I have lots of questions.  Please feel free to answer all or just select the ones you are solid on.

1.  Are there any renowned 101 tuners currently offering their services?  I know Dave Gunter used to be the man, but have also learned that he is no longer with us.

2.  What are the strong points and the weak points of the Crosman 100 series rifle as it came stock?

3.  What are the easiest places to upgrade the 100 Series airgun?

4.  What are the basic concepts of tuning a multi pump pneumatic in general?

5.  What areas could use improvement or even redesign for someone who was ambitious and has the machines and tooling?

6.  Best places to source parts for these air guns as well as general seals? 

7.  Best types of seals for certain applications?

8.  Is there a better platform to build the ultimate multi pump pneumatic than the Crosman and Benjamin/Sheridan designs?

9.  If I am not asking the right questions, please tell me what questions I need to be asking, and perhaps even what the answers to those questions are.

I know I am asking a lot, but I hope that in some way, down the line I will be able to reward the air gun community with some quality niche parts and services.  I greatly appreciate all of the help you can be to a young pup starting out. 
  • USA, Illinois, La Moille

Offline 45flint

• Expert