GatewayToAirGuns.org    Donation

All Springer/NP/PCP Air Gun Discussion General > PCP/CO2/HPA Air Gun Gates "The Darkside"

QB 79 hpa conversion help

(1/4) > >>

gosse_78:
I'm new to this fourm...i have a springer and a bunch of pump guns,love shooting them all,but looking to get into PCP.for starters,i would love to convert a 79 .22 to hpa.i know i need  the gun, a pump and a hpa paintball tank,but what else????? any recommendations or other things i need??????

Gary:
I thought about doing that myself. After reading many posts both here and other forums I came to the conclusion that unless a person wants a project instead of a rifle that you put together and go shooting to go for it. Without a lot of tinkering it will have a low shot count, fps. will be lower on every shot,etc.
got a Disco with the pump combo and I am pleased with the rifle,not so much with the pump. While the pump does work it has been a real pain,resealed it shortly after the warrenty ran out and have had it apart a couple of other times to clean the crud out of the check valve. A Hill or FX pump would be a better buy I think.
Gary

Ribbonstone:
Think you miss understook his post (or I did).  As it is a QB79, think he means an HPA tank rather than trying to compress air the tube. 13Ci HPA tank won't be guilty of a short shot count and won't be giving ever lowering speeds.

Personally, prefer the little 13CI tanks for the conversion.  I made the choice not to go over standard co2 type pressures, and usually run my HPA's with a tank set for 850PSI output. Even that low pressure generally shoots 5-10% faster than when using co2 (would turn a 600fps shooting co2 QB into a 650fps 85o psi HPA QB).  Other people have run them with HPA tanks set to give 100, 1200, or even 1400PSi and they've not reported any problems (may have been some problems, but they didn't report them).