GatewayToAirGuns.org    Donation

All Springer/NP/PCP Air Gun Discussion General > Engineering- Research & Development

FEA for HPA - it's not out of reach for us

(1/18) > >>

WobblyHand:
The recent thread on a ruptured pressure vessel, reminded me that HPA can be dangerous.  I was wondering if there were tools that could help us analyze things like this, and could be used by folks that hadn't done this kind of work for a living.  I'm thinking in terms of people that want to make or machine items for airguns.

Many CAD packages have some level of finite element analysis tools.  Ones that have these FEA packages include Fusion360, SolidWorks, FreeCAD, and I'm sure others.  The question I had was how hard is it to actually do this analysis.  Turns out, it's not too hard, at least in FreeCAD to do FEA.  FreeCAD being non-commercial, isn't quite as slick as the other tools, but, it seems to work ok, once you figure out a few quirks.  Now I am not a mechanical engineer, nor have I done this professionally, but I have had exposure to FEA for solving electromagnetic problems.

The basic steps are as follows

* Create a model of the structure under test
* Add any fixed constraints
* Apply pressure constraints
* Apply the material
* Mesh the model
* Set up the Solver and run the Solver
* View the resultsHere's a simplified model, hey we have to start somewhere.  It's 38.5mm OD with 3mm walls.  It has a horrible sharp inside corner, which we know is not good for a pressure vessel.  Lets say it is made of 6061-T6 and we charge it to 300 MPa.  To the right side of the line is pressurized.  Then we put some constraints.  We mesh the model.  At least in FreeCAD, it's a good idea to constrain the maximum element size.  Since this model is roughly 150 mm long, I chose a max element size of 1.5 mm.  The meshing takes a little bit. Then one runs the solver.  At least on my PC, it uses all the CPU cores for solving.  On an i7 it took 30 seconds.