GatewayToAirGuns.org    Donation

All Springer/NP/PCP Air Gun Discussion General > American/U.S. Air Gun Gates

Crosman Vantage Break In Period

(1/3) > >>

REDHAWK44:
I've purchased a Crosman Vantage from Pyramid  Air . I think I'm still in the break in period I've fired about 200 rounds thru it and the groups have went from 8 inch groups down to 4 inch group at 20 yards I thought by now (meaning I've fired over 200 rounds) I would be getting much smaller groups.
The question I have is will the gun continue to improve with more rounds fired ? What size groups should I expect with iron sights at 20 yards. I've been shooting for over 5 decades so I am a decent shot considering my eyes ain't as good as they used to be. If the groups don't improve I'm considering returning this gun and getting another one just like it.
Does anyone know of anything I can do to shrink these large groups ? The gun is a 22 cal

gendoc:
have you tried various pellet manufacturers and weights ?
i have best accuracy in several different .22's i have with the
H&N sport field target trophy in 14.66gr

REDHAWK44:
So far I've tried 6 or 7 different brands, styles and weights . Crosman 14.3 gr domes group the best . I've tried 4 different styles and weights of JSB all with less than desirable groups.
I'll try more brands till I find the right one. Any other ideas ? Does anyone think my groups will shrink with more rounds fired ? It takes time,effort and money to break in an airgun . An inaccurate gun is no fun and I don't want to waste anymore ammo if there will not be any improvement. Should I send the gun back and exchange it for another one ? Would you continue to spend more time and money shooting it hoping these horrible groups will get smaller ?
I'm new to break barrel air guns and need a little guidance and help is appreciated.

Roadworthy: