GatewayToAirGuns.org    Donation

All Springer/NP/PCP Air Gun Discussion General > Optics, Range estimation & related subjects

Parallax issue... idk?

(1/4) > >>

Airgunsniper8698:
Ok so I am confused here I am having really odd spreads with this scope. Idk if I am doing something wrong or what. All of the shoots at the below targets were taken with my new .177 Benjamin Armada sporting a monster 4-16 x 50mm scope and I was using a bipod with no wind. It was a nice calm morning.

This is my first time with a scope that has parallax adjustment so maybe I am wrong there. The big Brichwood Scoping target I used to zero my scope done to where I zero all my scopes 50'. Following the scope instructions I set my parallax to make the target clear and crisp which was just about the 15yards scribe mark on it. All was fine.

Today I shot at 4 ranges, 25, 50, 80, and 150 feet. The 80 foot target I didn't include a photo of was a resetting squirrel target. Had no issues hitting it accurately with a parallax setting of little over 50yards and a half mil down

The 150 foot target is the the white target and I had parallax at roughly 150 yards mark to get a clear target picture. I couldn't get a consistent grouping and I wasn't using any mil hold over.

The 50 foot target is the orange one with the wide spread. I was parallaxing at 25 yards. And kept hitting high even with 2 full mils down.

And the 25 foot target is the orange one with the string of hits. I parallaxed at 15yard mark and was hitting good aiming true no use of mils.

Is all of that normal or am I not using parallax adjustment correctly. Because the parallax yardage isn't adding up to the distances I was shooting at.

Motorhead:
At what Distance are you ZEROED at ?

Are you using any sort of bubble level ?
* If so are you sure scopes retical is vertical to bores center line & level has been set while viewing a plumb line at distance ?

mobilehomer: