GatewayToAirGuns.org    Donation

Target Shooting Matches, Discussion & Events > Field Target Gates

Using A Bipod in Hunter Class

(1/3) > >>

TwiceHorn:
Hey, folks.  I'm relatively new to hunter class and using a bipod.  I shoot off a bum bag rather than a bucket.

In preparation for my shots, I "lean" the bipod (bogpod sb-2) against my left (forward facing) knee.  When actually shooting, I can either leave it against my knee or "free float" it.  I honestly don't see a whole lot of difference in the shots I make either way.

But, from a theoretical or form perspective, is it better to "decouple" the pod from the body?

Related question, does it make much difference whether the 'pod is vertical or has a forward or backward tilt?

Motorhead:
Any time you can gain an anchor point or angled point of contact/support your stability potential increases.
keep in mind tho ... that, as the ground you sit on becomes uneven or sloping that the position of your shooting aids/stick still allow it NOT having you need to radically change up your typical holds etc ... 

TwiceHorn:
Thanks, Scott, although I am not sure I am "reading" your answer correctly.  I believe you are saying, as long as I'm not twisting myself in knots to do it, it is better to have it against my knee?

On the one hand, it seems that if you are lightly or uncoupled from the pod, it takes a degree of freedom out of the gun/human shooting mechanism, whereas coupling yourself to the pod makes the pod more of the mechanism.

Also, it's not unique to using a 'pod, as it happened to me using plain sitting as well, but my "wobble" seems to have a distinct left to right horizontal component to it, like I have pushed myself too far to the left and natural positioning is correcting it, but repositioning doesn't fix it.  Any idea about that?

Scotchmo:
Twicehorn,